Opportunity Nation Summit

The Apollo Theater and Columbia University
New York City November 3 and 4, 2011

Our summit, co-convened by TIME Magazine, United Way Worldwide, AARP, AARP Foundation, and Ford Foundation, and supported by a coalition of more than 160 businesses, nonprofits, educational institutions, and faith communities - "opportunity generators" - is focused on highlighting tangible ways to create more opportunity in America.

Click here to see the summit program.

Download more info about the Opportunity Nation Summit Opening Event at the Apollo Theater November 3, 8:00 - 9:00pm.

Here is the list of confirmed speakers:

  • Emily Allen – Vice President of Income, AARP Foundation
  • Major General Marcia Anderson – U.S. Army Reserves
  • Robert Balfanz – Center for Social Organization of Schools at Johns Hopkins University
  • The Honorable Michael Bennet – Senator, Colorado
  • Angela Glover Blackwell – Founder and CEO, Policy Link
  • The Honorable Michael Bloomberg – Mayor, City of New York
  • John M. Bridgeland – CEO, Civic Enterprises; Former Director, White House Domestic Policy Council, President George W. Bush
  • Dr. Xavier de Souza Briggs – Associate Professor of Sociology and Planning, MIT Department of Urban Studies & Planning
  • Sarah Burd-Sharps – Co-director, American Human Development Project
  • Stuart Butler – Distinguished Fellow and Director, Center for Policy Innovation
  • The Honorable Elaine L. Chao – 24th U.S. Secretary of Labor (2001-2009)
  • Gerald Chertavian – Founder and CEO, Year Up
  • José Cisneros – Treasurer, City and County of San Francisco
  • Scott Cowen – President, Tulane University
  • Reverend Luis Cortés Jr. – President, Esperanza
  • Rana Foroohar – Assistant Managing Editor, TIME Magazine
  • John Galante – Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, JP Morgan Chase
  • Michael Gerson – Journalist, Washington Post; Assistant to the President for Policy and Strategic Planning, President George W. Bush
  • Hill Harper – Actor, Activist
  • Robert Herbert – Journalist, The New York Times
  • Arianna Huffington – President and Editor-in-Chief, AOL Huffington Post Media Group
  • Jo Ann Jenkins – President, AARP Foundation
  • Michael Jennings – Director of Information Technology, LinkedIn
  • David John – Senior Research Fellow in Retirement Security and Financial Institutions, The Heritage Foundation
  • Vidar Jorgensen – President, Grameen America and Grameen Research; Advisor, Grameen Trust and Grameen Health Trust; Chairman, World Health Care Congress
  • Wendy Kopp – CEO and Founder, Teach For America and CEO and Co-Founder, Teach For All
  • Andrea Levere – President, Corporation for Enterprise Development
  • Kirsten Lodal – CEO and Co-Founder, LIFT
  • Patrick McCarthy – President and CEO, The Annie E. Casey Foundation
  • Michael Miles – President and COO, Staples
  • Maurice Lim Miller – President and CEO, Family Independence Initiative
  • Janet Murguía – President and CEO, National Council of La Raza
  • Jane Oates – Assistant Secretary of Employment and Training Administration, Department of Labor
  • Suze Orman – Personal Finance Expert
  • The Honorable Deval Patrick – Governor, Commonwealth of Massachusetts
  • Eduardo Padrón – President, Miami Dade College
  • John Pepper – Chairman of the Board, the Walt Disney Company and Former Chairman of the Board and CEO, Procter & Gamble
  • Peter G. Peterson – Founder and Chairman, Peter G. Peterson Foundation
  • Isabel Sawhill – Senior Fellow, Brookings Institution
  • Jon Schnur – Co-Founder and Chairman of the Board, New Leaders
  • Mark Shriver – Senior Vice President, Save the Children
  • Russell Simmons – CEO, Rush Communications
  • Rodney Slater – Partner, Patton Boggs LLP and Board of Directors, United Way Worldwide
  • Tavis Smiley – Broadcaster and Philanthropist, Tavis Smiley Foundation
  • Father Larry Snyder – President, Catholic Charities
  • Rick Stengel – Managing Editor, TIME
  • Dorothy Stoneman – Founder and President, YouthBuild USA
  • Patricia Stonesifer – Chair, White House Council for Community Solutions; Former Co-Chair and CEO, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation
  • Neera Tanden – Chief Operating Officer, Center for American Progress
  • Stuart Thorn – CEO, Southwire
  • Luis Ubiñas – President, The Ford Foundation
  • Dr. Rick Warren – Pastor, Saddleback Church
  • Roland Warren – President, National Fatherhood Initiative
  • Dr. Cornel West – Professor, Princeton University
  • Harry Williams – President, Delaware State University
  • Serena Williams – U.S. tennis champion, UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador
  • Dr. Fareed Zakaria – Editor-At-Large, TIME Magazine and Host of CNN's GPS with Fareed Zakaria

We are streaming the Main Summit Session and the Conversation Room Live

Main Session Link
Conversation Room Link

Use this widget to embed the live stream of the summit on your website, and to share this event with others, via twitter and facebook. Click the share button to choose from several sharing and embedding options.